About HERA

The Association formed over 50 years ago and was originally known as the American Association of Housing Educators (AAHE). Over time the Housing Education and Research Association (HERA) increased the focus on research and changed its name to reflect that.  Learn more about the history of HERA.

Housing Education and Research Association members encompass a wide spectrum of housing topics, including, but not limited to, social sciences, the built environment, and sustainability. As social, cultural and economic conditions change, HERA is dedicated to making society a better place.

HERA Leadership

Executive Director:
Barbara Allen
581 Stargazer Way
Florence, MT 59833
(406) 580-4836
heraballen@gmail.com

President:
Kandace Fisher-McLean
University of Missouri
314-400-7657
fisherkl@missouri.edu

President-elect:
Eunju Hwang
Virginia Tech
240 Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA  26060
540-231-0025
Hwange@vt.edu

Co-Vice-presidents:
Becky Yust & Marilyn Bruin
University of Minnesota
240 McNeal, 1985 Buford Ave.
St. Paul, MN  55108
651-373-1915 (Yust cell)
byust@umn.edu, mbruin@umn.edu

Secretary:
Michael Goldschmidt
University of Missouri
140 Stanley
Columbia, MO  65211
goldschmidtm@missouri.edu

Treasurer:
Randy Cantrell, Treasurer
University of Florida
3008 McCarty Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611
rcantrell@ufl.edu
352-273-3554

Director:
Axton Betz-Hamilton
South Dakota State University
147 Wagner Hall; Box 2275A
Brookings, SD  57007
605-688-5009
axton.betzhamilton@sdstate.edu

Director:
David Turcotte
UMass – Lowell
Mahoney Hall, Suite 212
Lowell, MA  01854
978-934-4682
David.Turcotte@uml.edu

Director:
Mary Ellen Welch
University of Connecticut
Family & Consumer Sciences
562 New London Turnpike
Norwich, CT  06360
203-676-0831
mary.welch@uconn.edu

Past-president:
David Turcotte
UMass – Lowell
Mahoney Hall, Suite 212
Lowell, MA  01854
978-934-4682
David.Turcotte@uml.edu

Journal Executive Editor:
Katrin Anacker, Executive Editor
George Mason University
3351 Fairfax Drive, MS 3B1
Arlington, VA 22201
kanacker@gmu.edu

2021 Conference Host
Becky Yust & Marilyn Bruin
University of Minnesota
240 McNeal Hall
1985 Buford Ave.
St. Paul, MN  55108
651-373-1915 (Yust cell)
byust@umn.edu, mbruin@umn.edu

2021 Proceedings Editors:
Becky Yust
University of Minnesota
byust@umn.edu

Erin Hopkins
Virginia Tech
erinz1@vt.edu

Academic Section Chair:
Julia Beamish
Virginia Tech
253 Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA  24061
540-231-8881
jbeamish@vt.edu

Research Section Chair: 
Erin Hopkins
Virginia Tech
113 Wallace Hall
295 W. Campus Dr.
Blacksburg, VA  24061
540-231-6282
erinz1@vt.edu

Extension Section Chair:
Claudette Hanks Reichel
LSU AgCenter – Extension
LaHouse Resource Center
Baton Rouge, LA  70820
225-578-2378
creichel@agcenter.lsu.edu

Awards Committee Chair:
Sung-Jin Lee
NC A&T State University
1601 E. Market St.
Greensboro, NC  27411
336-285-4735
slee@ncat.edu

Publications Committee Chair:
Mira Ahn
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX  78666
ma32@txstate.edu

Membership Committee Chair: 
Pamela Turner
University of Georgia
224 Hoke Smith Annex
Athens, GA  30602
706-542-9165
prturner@uga.edu

Nomination Committee Chair:
David Turcotte
UMass – Lowell
Mahoney Hall, Suite 212
Lowell, MA  01854
978-934-4682
David.turcotte@uml.edu