About HERA

The Association formed over 50 years ago and was originally known as the American Association of Housing Educators (AAHE). Over time the Housing Education and Research Association (HERA) increased the focus on research and changed its name to reflect that.  Learn more about the history of HERA.

Housing Education and Research Association members encompass a wide spectrum of housing topics, including, but not limited to, social sciences, the built environment, and sustainability. As social, cultural and economic conditions change, HERA is dedicated to making society a better place.

HERA Leadership

Executive Director:
Barbara Allen
581 Stargazer Way
Florence, MT 59833
406-580-4836
heraballen@gmail.com

President:
Eunju Hwang
Virginia Tech
540-231-0025
hwange@vt.edu

President-elect:
Kim Skobba
University of Georgia
706-542-4951
kskobba@uga.edu

Co-Vice-presidents:
Kandace Fisher-McLean & Michael Goldschmidt
University of Missouri
Kandace: 314-400-7657; Michael: 573-884-0905
Emails: fisherkl@missouri.edu; goldschmidtm@missouri.edu

Secretary:
Michael Goldschmidt
University of Missouri
573-884-0905
goldschmidtm@missouri.edu

Treasurer:
Randy Cantrell, Treasurer
University of Florida
352-273-3554
rcantrell@ufl.edu
352-273-3554

Director:
Axton Betz-Hamilton
South Dakota State University
605-688-5009
axton.betzhamilton@sdstate.edu

Director:
David Turcotte
UMass – Lowell
978-934-4682
David.Turcotte@uml.edu

Director:
Mary Ellen Welch
University of Connecticut
203-676-0831
mary.welch@uconn.edu

Past-president:
Kandace Fisher-McLean
University of Missouri
314-400-7657
fisherkl@missouri.edu

Journal Executive Editor:
Katrin Anacker, Executive Editor
George Mason University
kanacker@gmu.edu

2022 Conference Host
Kandace Fisher-McLean & Michael Goldschmidt
University of Missouri
Kandace: 314-400-7657; Michael: 573-884-0905
fisherkl@missouri.edu, goldschmidtm@missouri.edu

2021 Proceedings Editors:
Andrew Carswell
University of Georgia
412-365-1104
carswell@uga.edu

Academic Section Chair:
Julia Beamish
Virginia Tech
540-231-8881
jbeamish@vt.edu

Research Section Chair: 
Erin Hopkins
Virginia Tech
540-231-6282
erinz1@vt.edu

Extension Section Chair:
Katherine Allen
University of Florida – IFAS Extension
386-362-2771
nrgkate@ufl.edu

Awards Committee Chair:
Sung-Jin Lee
NC A&T State University
336-285-4735
slee@ncat.edu

Publications Committee Chair:
Andrew Carswell
University of Georgia
412-365-1104
carswell@uga.edu

Membership Committee Chair: 
Pamela Turner
University of Georgia
706-542-9165
prturner@uga.edu

Nomination Committee Chair:
Kandace Fisher-McLean
University of Missouri
314-400-7657
fisherkl@missouri.edu