About HERA

The Association formed over 50 years ago and was originally known as the American Association of Housing Educators (AAHE). Over time the Housing Education and Research Association (HERA) increased the focus on research and changed its name to reflect that.  Learn more about the history of HERA.

Housing Education and Research Association members encompass a wide spectrum of housing topics, including, but not limited to, social sciences, the built environment, and sustainability. As social, cultural and economic conditions change, HERA is dedicated to making society a better place.

HERA Leadership

Executive Director:
Barbara Allen
581 Stargazer Way
Florence, MT 59833
(406) 580-4836
heraballen@gmail.com

President:
David Turcotte
UMass – Lowell
Mahoney Hall, Suite 212
Lowell, MA  01854
david.turcotte@uml.edu

President-elect:
Katherine Allen
University of Florida Extension – Suwannee County
1302 11th Street SW
Live Oak, FL  32064
386-362-2771
nrgkate@ufl.edu

Vice-presidents:
Becky Yust & Marilyn Bruin
University of Minnesota
240 McNeal, 1985 Buford Ave.
St. Paul, MN  55108
612-624-7461/612-624-3780
byust@umn.edu, mbruin@umn.edu

Secretary:
Axton Betz-Hamilton
South Dakota State University
147 Wagner Hall
Brookings, SD 57007
Axton.BetzHamilton@sdstate.edu

Treasurer:
Randy Cantrell, Treasurer
University of Florida
3008 McCarty Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611
rcantrell@ufl.edu
352-273-3554

Director:
Erin Hopkins
Virginia Tech
113 Wallace Hall; 295 W Campus Drive
Blacksburg, VA  24061
540-231-2771
nrgkate@ufl.edu

Director:
Debbie Phillips
The Quadrillion
950 Eagles Landing Pkwy,  Ste. 485
Stockbridge, GA  30281
404-787-4409
debbie@thequadrillion.com

Director:
Mary Ellen Welch
University of Connecticut
Family & Consumer Sciences
562 New London Turnpike
Norwich, CT  06360
mary.welch@uconn.edu

Past-president:
Gina Peek
Oklahoma State University
College of Human Environmental Sciences
Stillwater, OK  74078
405-744-9521
gina.peek@okstate.edu

Journal Editor:
Katrin Anacker, Executive Editor
George Mason University
3351 Fairfax Drive, MS 3B1
Arlington, VA 22201
kanacker@gmu.edu

2020 Conference Host Institution
Becky Yust & Marilyn Bruin
University of Minnesota
240 McNeal Hall; 1985 Buford Ave.
St. Paul, MN  55108
612-624-7461/612-624-3780
byust@umn.edu, mbruin@umn.edu

2019 Proceedings Editor:
Search underway…

Academic Section Chair:
Julia Beamish
Virginia Tech
240A Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA  24061
540-231-8881
jbeamish@vt.edu

Research Section Chair: 
Luz Mairena Semeah
North Florida/South Georgia Veteran Health System
1601 SW Archer Road
Gainesville, FL  32608
352-264-7403
Luz.Semeah@va.gov

Extension Section Chair:
Claudette Hanks Reichel
LSU AgCenter – Extension
LaHouse Resource Center
Baton Rouge, LA  70820
225-578-2378
creichel@agcenter.lsu.edu

Awards Committee Chair:
Eunju Hwang
Chair Virginia Tech
240 Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA 26060
540-231-0025
hwange@vt.edu

Publications Committee Chair:
Kathleen Parrott
Virginia Tech
240 Wallace Hall; 295 W Campus Drive
Blacksburg, VA  24061
homes@vt.edu

Membership Committee Chair: 
Kandace Fisher-McLean
University of Missouri
10650 Gateway Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63132
fisherkl@missouri.edu

Nomination Committee Chair:
Gina Peek
Oklahoma State University
443 HES
Stillwater, OK  74078
405-744-9521
gina.peek@okstate.edu